DUFF '74

DUFF, the Down Under Fan Fund, was created in 1972 to encourage closer ties between Australian and America fandom by bringing fans across the Pacific. The 1972 race bought an American fan to the Australian National Convention, and this year's race will bring and Australian fan to the World Science Fiction Convention, Discon II. DUFF is supported entirely by voluntary contributions from fans all over the world. The success of the first campaign has made possible DUFF '74.

Donations: DUFF exists solely on the contributions of fans and is always in need of donations of money or auction material. Anyone may contribute, even if they do not feel qualified to vote. DUFF will be conducting a mail auction this year to help raise money fo the current race. All items to be auctioned should be sent to the American administrator. fan organisations. Please give generously. Anyone may contribute and donations in excess of the voting donation are gratefully accepted. Checks should be made payable to Richard Smith (in North America) or Alan Stewart (in Australasia). Money should always be sent in the administrators home currency.

Voting: DUFF uses the preferential system of balloting to guarantee an automatic runoff and a majority win. You rank the candidates in order of preference (1, 2, 3...). If there is no absolute majority for one candidate after the first count of votes, first-place votes for the lowest-ranking candidate are dropped and the second-place votes on those ballots are assigned to the candidates named. This goes on until one candidate has a majority. It is therefore important to vote for second, third, etc., places, especially if you choose to write in a candidate. (You are not required to fill in more than your name, address and first choice.) Ballots must be signed and accompanied by a donation of at least $4 in United States currency or $6 in Australian currency. You must return the entire ballot (both sides). You may vote only once.

Voters' eligibility: Anyone who has been active in fandom since October 1993 or before may vote. "Active in fandom" means involved in fannish pursuits, such as fanzine writing, convention running or club participation. (If you're not sure whether you're active in fandom, you probably aren't.) Voting is limited to natural persons.

Candidates: Three North American and two Australasian fans have stood as nominators for each of the candidates. Each candidate has provided a $25 bond, a brief written platform and a description of previous Australasian travel, and promised (barring acts of God) to travel to Thylacon, the 1995 Australian National Convention, June 10-12, in Hobart Tasmania, and to serve as administrator of the fund until a new North American delegate is elected.



(__) Nancy Tucker

(__) Pat & Roger Sims

(__) Lucy Schmeidler

(__) Write-in _________________

(__) Hold Over Funds

(__) No Preference



Donation (Your generosity is appreciated.)




ZIP/Postal Code:


Phone #:


Voters must be natural persons who have been active in fandom since before October 1993. If you think you may be unknown to the administrators, please give the name of a fan or fan group (other than a candidate or nominator) who can vouch that you meet these criteria:


Reference address:

1995 DUFF Candidates' Platforms


I've been active in fandom for 20 years, a regular contributor to ApaCorps and a current member of The Secret Garden, assisted Larry Tucker with his audio and video fanzines, performed in a "radio" skit at ConClave, audio- and video-taped fannish activities since the '70s, been active in the Science Fiction Oral History Association since its founding, currently vice-president and editor of the SFOHA newsletter, held numerous convention committee positions including three years as chairman of ConFusion, and assisted with several Worldcon® masquerades. I enjoy meeting people, partying and am officially licensed by Bob Tucker to lead Smoooths!

Previous Australasian Travel: None.

Nominators: Mike Glicksohn, Rusty Hevlin, Eric Lindsay, Marc Ortlieb, Wilson "Bob" Tucker.


Besides having jolly fun running for DUFF, Pat and Roger feel we would be good representatives from this side of the Pacific Ocean. Roger has been active in fandom since 1949, Pat since 1962. Roger has been a Worldcon® co-chair; a Worldcon® fan guest of honor; member of two apas; editor of Fantasy-Scope; contributor to Mimosa. Pat edits Roger's pubbing, runs the Cincinnati Fantasy Group's con suites and is its treasurer. Her activities would serve well in administering DUFF funds. If selected, we promise to visit as many fans in Australia as possible. Pat's daily trip journal would be supplemented by Roger and pubbed by the end of 1995.

Previous Australasian Travel: We were fortunate enough to be able to attend Aussiecon I (Daffodil Charter) in 1975, meeting fans in Sydney, Melbourne and Hobart.

Nominators: Stephen Boucher, Bill Bowers, Robin Johnson, Dick & Nicki Lynch, Bruce Pelz.


Although I read SF in the '50s, I only learned of organised fandom in 1980, when a chance-met acquaintance interested me in Lunacon, and through that, the other area conventions. In 1989, I helped found the Jewish Science Fiction league. I am currently a member of the New York Science Fiction Society (Lunarians) and the Science Fiction Association of Bergen County, US correspondent of the SF Review radio show (Adelaide) and editor of "Jews in Space, the newsletter of the Jewish science fiction community." I have also had some short fiction and nonfiction published in US and Australian magazines.

Previous Australasian Travel: None.

Nominators: Terry Dowling, Shariann Lewitt, Peter McNamara, Robert J. Sawyer, F. Paul Wilson.

Send this entire ballot with US$4 or A$6 (or more) donation to an administrator by 28 February, 1995.


North America:
Dick & Leah Smith,
410 W. Willow Road,
Prospect Heights,
IL, 60070-1250, USA.
Phone: +1 (708) 394-1950
Internet: dick@smith.chi.il.us

Alan Stewart
PO Box 222,
World Trade Centre,
Melbourne, VIC 3005
Phone: +61 (3) 429-8354
Internet: Alan=Stewart%Chem_Eng2@PC.unimelb.edu.au

Reproduction and distribution of this ballot is encouraged, as long as it is done verbatim. Anyone doing so should substitute his or her name here: Alan Stewart