DUFF Ballot 2016 — Australasia to North America

You can vote online using this form, or you can print a copy of the ballot by downloading the PDF.

The deadline for voting is 16 May 2016 at 23:59 AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time).

About DUFF: Since 1972 the Down Under Fan Fund, a fan-supported fellowship, has encouraged closer ties between Australasian and North American Science Fiction fans through the alternating exchange of representatives. DUFF delegates will time their travels to allow them to attend the World Science Fiction Convention or the national convention in the destination country and visit fans they would not have a chance to meet otherwise. The newly elected delegate will be responsible for raising funds, establishing a bank account (if necessary), keeping a record of the funds accumulated, and administering DUFF until a new delegate is elected from their continent. The new delegate is also encouraged to publish a trip report, copies of which can be sold to add to the fund.

Voting: DUFF uses the optional preferential balloting system to insure an automatic runoff and a majority of votes for one candidate. The voter ranks the candidates and other options in order of preference. If there is no majority for one of the candidates after the first count of votes, the first place votes for the lowest ranked candidate will be dropped, and the second place votes on those ballots will be assigned to the candidates so named. This goes on until one candidate has a majority of votes. When more than two candidates are running, it is important (but not required) to vote for your second, third, etc. choices especially if you choose to write in a candidate.

Ballots must be signed by the voter and accompanied by a minimum contribution of $5 in US, Australian, Canadian, or New Zealand currency, or an equivalent sum in other currencies. Any contributions in excess of the minimum voting fee will be gratefully accepted. The voting period will end on 16 May 2016. On-line votes may be cast, and voting fees may be paid by Paypal.

Eligibility to vote: Anyone may vote who has been active in fandom on or before January 1, 2016. “Active in fandom” is defined as being involved in fannish pursuits such as fanzine writing or reading, convention running or attending, amateur film or video production and/or club participation. Only natural persons may vote and may vote only once. A PDF version of this ballot is available here.

Candidate: Each candidate has three nominating fans from Australia or New Zealand, and two from North America. A written platform of 100 words or less, has been provided by each candidate and a promise (barring Acts of Ghod) that they will attend the 74th World Science Fiction Convention to be held in Kansas City, Missouri, USA, 17-21 August 2016, and to serve as administrator of the fund until the next Australian delegate is elected. A candidate entry fee of AUD 25 was collected and added to the fund.

Back to top


Clare McDonald-Sims

I’m a serial committee member and volunteer for fan clubs and smaller conventions in Melbourne, and a collector of SF books, digests and pulps. I’ve attended four Worldcons in four countries and would like to break that one-for-one streak. I love travelling to places I haven’t been, which includes Kansas City! If I have the honour of being the 2016 DUFF delegate I will attend as many cons, visit as many clubs, meet as many people and travel to as many new places as possible. I’m friendly, hardworking and will happily say g’day to everyone I meet.

Nominators: Australasia: Rose Mitchell, Janice Gelb, and Bruce Gillespie; North America: Curt Phillips and Steve & Sue Francis.

Back to top


THE DEADLINE FOR VOTING IS 16 May 2016 AT 23:59 AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)

You may vote in either of these ways:


Votes are not valid unless accompanied by a contribution of at least $5 in US, Australian, Canadian, or New Zealand currency, or an equivalent sum in other currencies. Note: We cannot accept cheques/checks.

You may contribute by using the Paypal links on the voting form, which link to Jean Weber's account. She will pass the money on to the Australian DUFF administrator. If you cannot or will not use Paypal, please contact an administrator.


AUSTRALIA: Julian Warner & Justin Ackroyd (on behalf of Bill Wright)
julian [dot] warner [at] people [dot] net [dot] au

NORTH AMERICA: Lucy Huntzinger (on behalf of Juanita Coulson)
downunderfanfund [at] gmail [dot] com

This ballot was authorised by Julian Warner and Lucy Huntzinger and prepared by Jean Weber.

Back to top