DUFF Update


This is a quick update from Emma Hawkes, lucky 2009 DUFFer. This update is to let you know about the progress of fundraising in Australia since 2009 and to also give you a more detailed break down of the results of the 2011 DUFF race. Iíve also made a list of all those who voted (and thanks to you!).

My DUFF report is still available in hard copy. Email me at ehawkes@iinet.net.au for details. Or I can send you a PDF electronically. Also, there is a visual diary that you can get electronically. Again, email me and Iíll send it through to you.

Voting in the 2011 DUFF Race

First Preferences
Hold Over 	 1
No Preference 	 9
Write In 	 1
Dave Cake 	80
Paula McGrath 	57

Total Preferences
		 1   2   3   4
Dave Cake 	80  33   1   1
Paula McGrath 	57  44   0   0
Regional Variations in Voting

	    Australasian 	  American 
	 First Preferences   First Preferences
Dave Cake 	69 			11
Paula McGrath 	33 			24

Australian Fund Raising

Hereís a summary of fundraising in Australia since 2009:

Sale of art at Anticipation in 2009 - $31
Votes for 2010 in Australia - $1058 of which $198 was Paypal, the remainder in cash/ cheques
Sale of DUFF report - $76.20
Auction at Swancon 2010 - $104
Reward for early report - $500
Nomination Fees for 2011 race - $50
Auction at Minicon 2011 - $41.50
2011 votes - $1,025 Of which $355 was Paypal, the remainder was cash/cheques*
Swancon 2011 art show - $8
Swancon 2011 auction - $214

So, the voting is the main way to take money in, with the reward for the early submission of the report as a lucrative plus on the report writing.

Itís kind of hard to see what sells well in auctions. At the Swancon 2011 auction, a fantasy anthology signed by Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling and Neil Gaiman went for a mere $16 while an unsigned short story collection by Shaun Tan went for $70 (though 2010 was Shaun Tanís year).

For a comparison, US$435 was donated in the 2011 in North America.

Thank you very much to...

Australiasian Voters
Paul Andinac
Andrew Bailey
Sue Ann Barber
Alison Barton
Anneliese Beal
Michael Buker
Doug Burbidge
Terry Chilvers
Michael Chuston
T Clarke
Chris Coman
Chris Creagh
Cathy Cupitt
Michael Dawson
Margaret Dunlop
Tom Eitelhuber
Kate Eltam
Sarah Endicott
Helen Ensikat
Nick Evans
Russell B Farr
Janice Gelb
Bruce Gillespie
Gina Goddard
Stephen Griffiths
Bec Handcock
Carey Handfield
Emma Hawkes
Jon Haywood
Anna Hepworth
Irwin Hirsh
Robert Hoge
Beverley Hope
Robin Johnson
Elaine Kemp
Mike Kent
Jocelyn Kuan
Margie Wuffie Levingston
Eric Lindsay
Simon Litten
Peter Lyons
Clare MacDonald
Murray MacLaghlan
Natalie Maclaghlan
Caspian Maclean
Ken McCaw
Kirsten McDermott
David McDonald
Paula McGrath
Karen McKenna
E. McLeary
Heather Magee
Helen Merrick
Rose Mitchell
Brendan Mitchell
Emma Samara Morgan
Jason Nating
Glenda Noramly
Sandra Norman
Michael O'Brien
Andrew O'Rorke
Roman Orszanski
Danny Oz
Sarah Parker
Robin Pen
Christopher Phillips
Jeanette Phillips
Mark Plummer
Amanda Rainey
Matt Rawlinson
Douglas Raxworthy
Jamie Reuel
Joshua Robson
Samantha Rooney
Graham Rowland
David L Russell
April Rutkay
Peter Ryan
Andrew Sharp
Renee Shaw
Faith Sinnott
Adrian Smith
Christopher Solustone
K Stannard
Craig Stephenson
Alan Stewart
Erwin Strauss
Lucy Sussex
Shay Telfer
Ross Temple
Elaine Walker
Rohan Wallace
Julian Warner
Damien Warman
Kaaron Warre
Grant Watson
Davina Watson
David Webb
Jean Weber
Tehani Wesseley
Juanita Whitehead
Tess Williams
Sean Williams
Andrew Wilson
Juliette Woods
Bill Wright
Sarah Xu
June Young

North American Voters
Kent Bloom
Randy Byers
Marty Cantor
Susan Vole
Catherine Crockett
Naomi Fisher
Steve Francis
Sue Francis
John Hertz
Melanie Herz
Colin Hinz
Arthur Hlavaty
Jim Hudson
Frank Kalisz
Millie Kalisz
Jerry Kaufman
Morris Keesan
Robert Lichtman
Daniel Lieberman
Guy Lillian
Mark Linneman
Karen Meschke
Grace Molloy
Patrick Molloy
Murray Moore
Melissa Morman
Janice Murray
David Ratti
Steven Silver
Pat Sims
Roger Sims
Randy Smith
Richard Spelman
Ian Stockdale
Suzanne Tompkins
Laurraine Tutihasi
Tom Veal
Toni Weisskopf
Joel Zakem
Top of Page