Modelled on DUFF and TAFF. Founded by John Newman and Sue Dickie in 1983, in an attempt to bring Australian and New Zealand fandoms closer together. The first race was administered by John and Frank MacSkasy Jnr.

Current Administrators are Lynelle Howell and David McDonald (PO Box 32, Blackburn, Melbourne, VIC 3130, Australia).



Note: By following the links in this section you’ll be able to finds details of each race (the candidates’ platforms & nominators), voting details, reprints of the chapters listed, or details on how to purchase completed trip reports.


1983 Winner: Tom Cardy
Attended: Syncon ’83, Sydney, Aussie Natcon
Trip report: FFANZ for the Memories (1984)
Other Contenders: Graham Ferner, Michelle Muysert, Nigel Rowe.
1985 Winner: Nigel Rowe
Attended: Aussiecon Two, Melbourne, Worldcon
Other Contender: Duncan Lucas.
1986 Winner: Roger Weddall
Attended: Halleycon, Dunedin, NZ Natcon
Other Contender: George Turner
1987 Winner: Lyn McConchie
Attended: CapCon, Canberra, Aussie NatCon
Other Contenders: Frank MacSkasy Jnr (Joint winner-declined)
and Alex & Karen Heatley.
1988 Winner: Terry Frost & Karen Vaughn
Attended: Confusion, Christchurch, NZ Natcon
Other Contender: Gordon Lingard.
1989 Winner: Brian Howell
Attended: Swancon 14, Perth, Aussie NatCon
Other Contenders: Dan McCarthy, Briar Parkinson.
1991 Winner: Alan Stewart
Attended: ForryCon, Wellington, NZ Natcon
Trip Report: FFANZ Across The Water (1993)
Ran Unopposed
1992 Winner: Rex Thompson
Attended: Syncon ’92, Sydney, Aussie NatCon
Trip Report: From the Prying FFANZ Into the Foyer
Other Contender: Linette Horne.
1993 Winner: Ian Gunn & Karen Pender-Gunn
Attended: Defcon, Wellington, NZ Natcon & Australasian Media Natcon.
Other Contenders: Geoff Tilley, Clive Newall.
1994 Winner: Tim Jones
Attended: Constantinople, Melbourne, Aussie Natcon & Australasian Media Natcon
Trip report: Australian Crawl (1995)
Other Contender: Murray MacLachlan.
1995 Winner: Donna Heenan
Attended: ConQuest ’95, NZ Natcon
Ran Unopposed
1996 Winner: Evan McCarthy
Attended: Swancon 21 – Festival of the Imagination, Perth, Aussie Natcon & Australasian Media Natcon
Ran Unopposed
1998 Winner: Renaldo, The Party Sheep (Frances Papworth & Phil Wlodarczyk)
Attended: Construction, NZ Natcon
Trip report: 2 Loonies and a Soft Toy (1999)
Ran Unopposed
1999 Winner: Linnette Horne
Attended: Aussiecon Three, Melbourne, Worldcon.
Ran Unopposed
2000 Winner: Paul Ewins
Scheduled to attend: OdysseyCon, Auckland, 2001 NZ Natcon (originally to attend Con d’Or, but the trip was held over due to Paul’s work commitments)
Other Contenders: Big Ted (Julian Warner & Lucy Sussex), Justin Semmel
2003 Winner: Rose Mitchell
Attended: Emoticon, NZ Natcon
Ran Unopposed
2004 Winner: Maree & Matthew Pavletich
Attended: Conflux, Canberra, Aussie Natcon (Matthew was unable to travel due to other commitments)
Trip report: Fen are the most individual group of people (2005)
Other Contenders: Dan McCarthy, Malcolm Fletcher.
2006 Winner: Barbara & Peter Clendon
Attended: Conjure, Brisbane, Aussie Natcon
Ran Unopposed
2007 Winner: David Cake
Attended: Conspiracy 2, Wellington, New Zealand Natcon
Ran Unopposed
2010 Winner: Stephen Litten & Jan Butterworth
Attended: Aussiecon 4, Melbourne, Worldcon
Other Contender: Jenny Hammond
2012 Winner: Edwina Harvey
Attended: unCONventional, Auckland, New Zealand Natcon
Ran Unopposed
2014 Winner: Dan Rabarts
To Attend: Continuum X, Melbourne, Australian Natcon
Trip report: 2014 Continuum X Trip Report (2015)
Ran Unopposed
2015 Winner: David McDonald
Attended: Reconnaissance, Rotorua, New Zealand Natcon
Ran Unopposed
2016 No race held
2017 Winner: Lynelle Howell
Attended: Continuum XIII, Melbourne, Australian Natcon
Ran Unopposed



This section is under construction.