DUFF Ballot 2018 — Australasia to North America

You can vote online using the form below, or you can print a copy of the ballot by downloading the PDF.

The deadline for voting is 31 March 2018 at 23:59 AEDT (Australian Eastern Daylight Time).

About DUFF: Since 1972 the Down Under Fan Fund, a fan-supported fellowship, has encouraged closer ties between Australasian and North American Science Fiction fans through the alternating exchange of representatives. DUFF delegates will time their travels to allow them to attend the World Science Fiction Convention or the national convention in the destination country and visit fans they would not have a chance to meet otherwise. The newly elected delegate will be responsible for raising funds, establishing a bank account (if necessary), keeping a record of the funds accumulated, and administering DUFF until a new delegate is elected from their continent. The new delegate is also encouraged to publish a trip report, copies of which can be sold to add to the fund.

Voting: DUFF uses the optional preferential balloting system to insure an automatic runoff and a majority of votes for one candidate. The voter ranks the candidates and other options in order of preference. If there is no majority for one of the candidates after the first count of votes, the first place votes for the lowest ranked candidate will be dropped, and the second place votes on those ballots will be assigned to the candidates so named. This goes on until one candidate has a majority of votes. When more than two candidates are running, it is important (but not required) to vote for your second, third, etc. choices especially if you choose to write in a candidate.

Ballots: Paper ballots must be signed by the voter and accompanied by a minimum contribution of $5 in US, Australian, Canadian, or New Zealand currency, or an equivalent sum in other currencies. Any contributions in excess of the minimum voting fee will be gratefully accepted. The voting period will end on 31 March 2018. On-line votes may be cast using this form, and voting fees may be paid by Paypal or cheque.

Eligibility to vote: Anyone may vote who has been active in fandom on or before 1 January 2018. “Active in fandom” is defined as being involved in fannish pursuits such as fanzine writing or reading, convention running or attending, amateur film or video production and/or club participation. Only natural persons may vote and may vote only once.

Candidate: Each candidate has three nominating fans from Australia or New Zealand and two from North America. A written platform of 100 words or less has been provided by each candidate and a promise (barring Acts of Ghod) that they will attend the 76th World Science Fiction Convention to be held in San Jose, California, USA, 16-20 August 2018, and to serve as administrator of the fund until the next Australian delegate is elected. A candidate entry fee of AUD 25.00 was collected and added to the fund.


Marlee Jane Ward

I’m a writer, blogger and amateur photographer from Melbourne, Australia. I’m passionate about writing, but every writer begins as a fan – and I’m mad about Science Fiction. I attended Worldcon in 2016 in Kansas City and I’d love to have the opportunity to build connections with world-wide fans of Science Fiction again in San Jose this year. I look to document fan culture and my personal experience at the biggest con in the world, both through blogs and photos. I’m warm, outgoing and absolutely sure that I won’t just make networks, I’ll make friends.

Nominators: Australasia: Jane Rawson, Cat Sparks and Corey White; North America: Neile Graham and Kij Johnson.


THE DEADLINE FOR VOTING is 31 March 2018 at 23:59 AEDT (Australian Eastern Daylight Time)

You may vote in either of these ways:

  • Print the official ballot (PDF), fill it in by hand, and send it to one of the administrators.
  • Use the form below to vote online.


Votes are not valid unless accompanied by a contribution of at least $5 in US, Australian, Canadian, or New Zealand currency, or an equivalent sum in other currencies.

You may contribute by using Paypal (choose the option to send money to friends and family and either administrator’s email address for recipient) or by US check or Australian cheque to the relevant administrator (make Australian cheques out to DUFF, please); see PDF ballot for addresses. (Sorry, we can’t accept checks/ cheques from other countries.) For more details and choices, see the Thank you for voting page.


AUSTRALASIA: Clare McDonald-Sims, clare1701 [at] warpmail [dot] net
NORTH AMERICA: Paul Weimer, jvstin [at] gmail [dot] com

Voting Form

Note: This form is sent to an email address at the Ozfanfunds website, from where it is automatically forwarded to the DUFF administrators.

Your name*:  
Zip/Postal Code*:  
Phone number:  
 * Required  
If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, please give in the space below the name and contact details of a fan or fan group (other than a candidate or nominator) who can vouch that you meet the voting criteria.
Reference Name:  
Reference Email or Address:  
Please indicate your voting preference below. Use only the numbers 1 to 4 (1=first choice); do not repeat any numbers. You do not need to number every choice. Then click the small “Vote” button below the boxes.
  Marlee Jane Ward
  Hold over funds (I don’t want anyone to win)
  No Preference (I don’t care who wins)


Go to top

This ballot was authorised by Clare McDonald-Sims and Paul Weimer and prepared by Jean Weber.